Skip to content

What’s in a ring?

September 28, 2011

Sometime this week, K and I mark our paper anniversary. The question family and friends have asked me most in our first year of marriage is this: ‘What is the difference from before you were married?’. Oh, then followed by ‘When are you having a baby?’.

My answer to the first question is generally ‘Well, there’s more responsibility now that we’ve signed on the dotted line’, to laugh a little nervously, skip the second question and  then swiftly move on to another subject altogether. Not that I do not believe enough in the sanctity of marriage to know it’s no laughing matter, but because I genuinely do not have a well-considered answer.

I’m simply learning, savouring and loving being married. To him.

So I find myself caressing my wedding and engagement bands absent-mindedly, remembering this past year and asking myself this: ‘Indeed, what is the difference?’

Nothing.

Everything.

Photos courtesy of the über-talented Mindy of Mindy Tan Wedding Photography

12 Comments leave one →
  1. September 28, 2011 5:30 AM

    I’m afraid I don’t have an erudite comment to convey the “awwww” that my was my genuine reaction to your post. Happy anniversary!

  2. September 28, 2011 8:34 AM

    Yep. It’s nothing and it’s everything.

  3. September 30, 2011 4:07 AM

    Awwww… what a lovely read to start of the Friday morning, Thanks Christine. Can’t believe its been a year already? Your wedding ceremony at The Blue Room at Westminister still rings clear in my head – Paul holding up the video camera and sobbing as both of you read your vows. Such a lovely time 🙂

  4. September 30, 2011 8:54 PM

    Belated Happy Anniversary! Beautiful post, nothing and everything says it all….RaeDi

  5. October 3, 2011 9:48 AM

    Christine – so happy for you. Long may it continue x

  6. October 8, 2011 6:14 PM

    Happy anniversary to you both!

Leave a comment