Skip to content

Hello you, gorgeous… uumm…mushroom soup.

February 23, 2013
Image
Practice makes perfect… and if not, it hopefully makes for at least improvements to whatever the task at hand is. So you know what happens when you don’t practise, you move increasingly further away from improving. That’s exactly what happened to me, blogging and food photography. I got lazy and then lost my sense of ‘blogging direction’ if you like. I tried to get back into it, composing posts in my head, but then life got in the way. Then I started coming up with excuses: ‘My next post needs to be of a really great recipe with amazing photos – no great recipe, no amazing photos, no blogging’; ‘No one gives a damn anyway’.
Why am I blogging now then? There was no lightbulb going off in my head with a brilliant idea for a post. I didn’t cook or bake anything that I thought any of you would be scrambling to reproduce and share with the rest of the world. Sure, I took some photos. But what happened was that after just over 12 months of being a newbie in Singapore, I have yet to find a good soup joint to satisfy my craving for thick, hearty soup (I tried some mushroom soup at a place called The Soup Spoon in my early days here, it was like swallowing gloopy starch.. urrghhh). So I had a look at some recipes online. I bought some ingredients. I made soup.
Now, I can’t promise that there’ll be more to come soon, but today, here and now, I’m simply going to attempt to note down how I mustered up a simple mushroom soup last Sunday for lunch, upload the photos I took and not worry too much about how it all reads and looks. Much like how my mind-frame was like when I wrote my very first blogpost.
Here’s sharing with you my version of Jamie Oliver’s recipe for a mushroom soup. I’ve changed some of the ingredients based on what was available at the supermarket here in Singapore. I also blended all the ingredients but will definitely leave some chunks in next time round. It was so good, I only managed 4 servings instead of Jamie’s 6!
Image
What you’ll need
  • 2 dried shittake mushrooms
  • olive oil
  • 600g of fresh mushrooms (I used sliced king trumpet, white and brown shimeji)
  • 4 cloves garlic, peeled and finely sliced
  • 1 onion, peeled and finely chopped
  • 1 handful of chopped fresh parsley
  • sea salt
  • freshly ground black pepper
  • 1 litre chicken stock
  • 1 tablespoon of Greek yoghurt
  • 1 handful of chopped chives
To make your mushroom soup
  1. Place the shittake in a small dish, add boiling water just to cover, and leave to soak.
  2. Get a medium pot nice and hot, then add a good couple of lugs of olive oil and your fresh mushrooms. Stir around very quickly for a minute, then add your garlic, onion and parsley, and a small amount of seasoning.
  3. After about a minute you’ll probably notice moisture cooking out of the mushrooms and at this point add half of the shittake chopped up, and the rest left whole. Strain the soaking liquid to remove any grit, and add it to the pan. Carry on cooking for about 15 minutes until most of the moisture disappears.
  4. Season to taste, and add your stock. Bring to the boil and simmer for around 15 minutes.
  5. Add the Greek yoghurt and chopped chives then whiz your soup up to a purée in the pot using a hand held blender (or carefully ladle into a blender), seasoning carefully to taste.
… and it didn’t taste or feel like gloopy starch! Hurrah!
Yields 4 generous servings
Image
7 Comments leave one →
  1. February 23, 2013 5:59 PM

    Great to see and hear fro you again. I know the feeling , sometimes it really is hard to know what to say. Your photos here are brilliant and I hope to see more although I don’t think you need to feel like you have to do more. Just if you want to and the words are there!

    • February 24, 2013 3:45 PM

      Thanks as always for your encouraging words, Laura. I shall try my best to get off my lazy behind and blog more x

  2. February 24, 2013 1:43 PM

    Nice to see you back! Great post! I love mushroom soup, it is definitely the weather for soup here! I can just imagine having this for lunch, I must get some mushrooms!

    • February 24, 2013 3:42 PM

      Thanks Jayne! It’s terribly easy to make too. My husband says I’m mad to be making and eating soup in this hot weather but I can’t help it, I love my soups!

  3. February 25, 2013 11:55 AM

    Hooray! Lovely to hear from you again Christine. You are way too hard on yourself – these photos are great and makes the mushroom soup very inviting. I think we all have periods when we agonise over posts – you are certainly not alone. Can’t believe it has been a year already since you’ve been in Singapore!

  4. February 25, 2013 1:15 PM

    You know what I love about this post the most (hey that rhymes! hehe)? The fact that it was so honest and straight from the heart. Not to say the rest of your posts aren’t, but this one in particular was a joy to read for that very reason.

    Also, I LOVE mushroom soup but you can rarely find any decent versions of it! I look forward to trying out your recipe.

    Big hugs to you Catchy, from the “sandpit”. 😉
    Xoxo

Leave a Reply

