Skip to content

Easing back into the kitchen with a Yum Woon Sen

May 1, 2012

Hi all! Thanks for sticking around and your continued support on the blog. Unbelievably, Chef K and I marked our three months move here to Singapore a few days ago. Can you believe that we’re STILL trying to settle in, in this sunny little island-country? We’ve been really blessed though, to have K’s family around us. My MIL’s been feeding us really well but as a result, I’ve not been in the kitchen much, except to help with the washing up (I know, lucky me!). My beloved kitchen gear remain in storage and when I saw ‘Red’ today, resting in her Kitchenaid box, I felt a little pang of sadness that she lies there so unloved.

However, I did make a resolution a couple of weeks back to cook something and photograph it. Something that didn’t require an oven (we’re oven-less here) or too much time in the kitchen. Looking through my previous posts, I found my variation on the Thai Yum Woon Sen (mung bean noodles salad) which I blogged about last year. Last year, in London. In the summer. Sigh. *shakes self out of missing London mode*

I’ve changed the recipe a little bit, based on what I could find in the supermarket here and in my MIL’s fridge. Certain produce like coriander and celery leaves are really cheap here. Others like tomatoes and lettuce are a little bit more expensive than in the UK, being imports from Australia/the US but still readily available.

The great thing about this dish is that the change in ingredients still made for a really good hearty salad (though not necessarily authentic), the key is simply to make sure the dressing is spot on!

Thai mung bean noodles salad (Yum Woon Sen)

What you’ll need

  • 2 small bundles of mung bean/glass noodles
  • 100g minced pork
  • 12 fresh tiger prawns, peeled, deveined and butterflied
  • Salt
  • 1 fresh red chilli, finely sliced
  • 1 stalk of spring onion, finely sliced
  • A handful of chopped celery leaves
  • A handful of chopped coriander
  • A handful of cherry tomatoes, sliced length ways
  • Chopped roasted peanuts to garnish

For the dressing

  • Juice of 2 limes
  • 3 tbsp fish sauce
  • 3 tbsp soy sauce
  • 3/4 tsp sugar

How to make your noodles salad

  1. Mix all the ingredients for the dressing in a small bowl until the sugar has dissolved and set aside.
  2. Soak the mung bean noodles in boiling water for about 1-2 minutes. Drain and set aside.
  3. In a saucepan/ wok, fry the minced pork in a tablespoon of oil until cooked then toss in the prawns and fry for a further 3 minutes or until the prawns are just cooked. Season with salt according to taste. Remove from the heat to cool for another minute.
  4. Add the mung bean noodles into the saucepan/ wok together with the chilli, spring onion, celery leaves, coriander, tomatoes and dressing. Toss well.
  5. Arrange the lettuce on a large platter so it holds the salad, then spoon the noodles on top of the lettuce and serve warm with chopped peanuts on top (the observant ones amongst you will notice I forgot the peanuts before the shoot!).

This platter of salad easily serves four as part of a meal with other dishes or as a starter.

We used the lettuce leaves to wrap a little serving of noodles and ingredients together before devouring in one big mouthful!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. May 3, 2012 1:53 AM

    Three months already? That’s great, so is this food!

  2. May 3, 2012 10:26 AM

    Just my kind of salad. I love the dressing and it also looks so fresh and good for you! Beautiful photos too 🙂

    • May 3, 2012 4:05 PM

      Thanks Laura. It was a challenge trying to find a spot with natural light! Unfamiliar environment but I managed, thankfully!

  3. May 6, 2012 4:46 AM

    I love Glass Noodle Salad! Reminds me of my cooking school in Thailand where we went on honeymoon. This looks lovely and refreshing Christine. Just what you need during the humid weather! Hopefully you will be able to spend more time in the kitchen experimenting soon 🙂

Leave a Reply

