Skip to content

The richness of duck eggs

January 23, 2012

I’m still desperately trying to visit all the restaurants on my pre-departure eat list but thought I’d share a little treat I whipped up at home last week.

Duck egg is the richer and some may say tastier cousin of the chicken egg, on account of the higher fat content in the yolk and more protein in the white. I’ve heard bakers say baking with duck eggs result in a fluffier cake because of these factors. Here, I have simply poached it to bring out the richness of the egg, served on smoked salmon and toast without any sauce to allow the star ingredient to shine through.

Poached duck egg on smoked salmon and toast

1. Half fill a wide saucepan with water and bring to a gentle simmer. You’re looking for little bubbles to form continuously at the bottom of the saucepan and begin coming up to the surface of the water.

2. Break a duck egg into a cup or shallow dish.

3. Give the water a gentle swirl and in one swift movement, pour the egg into the centre of the swirling water.

4. Make sure the water does not bubble too much (turn the heat down a notch if you need). I left my egg in for 4 minutes each which meant the yolk was just set but still runny.

5. Remove  the egg from the saucepan with a slotted spoon and drain any excess water on a paper towel.

6. Place the egg on a couple of slices of smoked salmon and lightly buttered toast. Serve with a crack of black pepper and salt.

Yields one serving

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 23, 2012 1:51 AM

    That looks amazing!

  2. January 23, 2012 7:01 PM

    What wonderful photos of a dish I like to cook myself although with regular eggs as I don’t often buy duck eggs! I am guessing you haven’t got long left now, but keep posting all your restaurant tips too x

    • January 23, 2012 10:17 PM

      Hi Laura – we don’t often buy duck eggs either but wanted a treat before we left UK 🙂

  3. February 15, 2012 8:46 AM

    I’ve only ever eaten duck eggs Chinese style – when it coats prawns, crabs or cooked with vegetables. Why have I never thought of just eating it with toast and smoked salmon as you have is a mystery to me! Thanks for sharing! HF

    • February 15, 2012 12:59 PM

      You’re welcome, HF. Thanks for taking time to comment. Now that I’m in SEA, I shall look out for duck eggs Chinese style.

Leave a Reply

