Skip to content

My London: Mandarin Kitchen for lobster noodles

January 18, 2012

During my university days, my friends and I used to walk past Mandarin Kitchen and speak of when our parents would visit so we could cheekily persuade them to treat us to a meal there. Compared to a quick meal of a rice/noodle dish costing under a fiver per person from the other Chinese restaurants in Bayswater, a meal at Mandarin Kitchen could easily cost over £20pp – definitely only affordable when parents came visiting.

It is predominantly a seafood restaurant, famous for its lobster noodles which I bought recently for £32 (this will be the seasonal price so will vary slightly each visit). For this, you do get a whole cooked lobster tossed with egg noodles, plenty to feed 2-3 persons. Over the years, I have also tried the razor clams, fresh scallops and fish from here. Most of these were ordered steamed and eaten along with steamed rice and vegetables. On most occasions, the seafood would be perfectly cooked and very fresh – I struggle to recall a single visit here where I’d been dissatisfied with the seafood served.

Mandarin Kitchen remains my go-to restaurant in London for seafood, cooked Chinese style. Whilst it’s been difficult to squeeze in a final meal here before we leave London, I did manage to order lobster noodles tossed with ginger and spring onions to take-away for dinner at home one day. The husband said it was the most expensive take-away he’d ever had. But damn, it was delicious.

Name: Mandarin Kitchen Seafood Restaurant

Location: 14-16 Queensway, London W2 3RX

Price: £32 for lobster noodles (seasonal price)

Go for: fresh seafood cooked Chinese style

Mandarin Kitchen on Urbanspoon

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 18, 2012 6:57 PM

    Worth every penny I bet! I used to go to the Magic Wok a lot when I lived around there and their crispy fried squid was always top notch. I must get myself to The Mandarin Kitchen sometime, I remember Fay Maschler always used to rave about it too xx

    • January 18, 2012 7:29 PM

      Laura – a visit to Mandarin Kitchen is still a treat but yes, worth every penny 🙂 Please let me know what you think when you visit x

Leave a Reply

