Skip to content

Happy one year old!

January 6, 2012

Well, hello there, 2012 and more importantly today, thebountifulplate celebrates ONE WHOLE YEAR of blogging! *cue fireworks, clinking of champagne filled glasses and party poppers*

In so many ways, it has been a thoroughly rewarding first year of food blogging. I remember starting this blog without any expectations at all – I didn’t know much about blogging except that which wordpress.com taught me; I hadn’t realised there was such a large community of food bloggers not only in the UK but around the world; I never thought there’d be people out there like you, who’d stumble on this blog and want to come back for more.

I’m thankful for every new experience this blog has given me but here are some of the highlights:

Sticking my hand up to test a recipe for the now fully published and über talented Vanessa Kimbell, author of Prepped!

Meeting a whole bunch of people who, like me, got excited at the mere sniff of good food at the Food Blogger’s Conference – Food Bloggers Connect

Learning about food writing at Leith’s Cookery School with Lulu Grimes

Meeting renowned chef, writer and food blogger David Lebovitz

Being selected as the official Taste of London food critic

Having one of my write-ups published in the inspirational online food magazine – The Foodie Bugle

Truly, nothing could have prepared me for the food-blogging journey the last 12 months has been and where it’s taken me, all the good food I’ve tasted and multi-talented food bloggers, photographers and foodies I’ve met.

This has, in part, been down to me being located in London. Many of the food related activities I’ve participated in have been held here – the Food Bloggers’ Conference, the food writing course, cooking classes and food demonstrations. The vibrancy of the food scene in this capital is nothing short of astonishing – new and pretty damn good restaurant openings (Dinner and NOPI), almost every cuisine under the sun and varied produce. Food-bloggers here have it good, I say – there is so much to experience and eat.

Well, I will miss all this.

Chef K and I will be relocating to pastures new in a few weeks’ time. Whilst I can of course, blog from anywhere in the world, I will not have the benefit of my own kitchen for a little while. It will also take me some time to settle in to our new environment and find my baking+cooking groove again, so to speak. A change in environment also means different food influences – scents and sights, which I am really looking forward to.

But I want to assure you, I have every intention to continue sharing my food stories with you. I hope you will stay with me as I move to a region where I will doubtless experience a whole new food culture and variety of produce. We will be based in Singapore, in South East Asia alongside culture-rich countries like Thailand, Vietnam and of course, where I grew up, Malaysia.

Thank you, once again, for making my first year of blogging so very interesting. Your comments, ‘likes’, support and encouragement mean a lot to me. Now, before this turns into some kind of embarrassing Oscar winning speech, I simply wanted to share a quote I picked up from a new-found acquaintance:

‘The bad news is, time flies. The good news is, you’re the pilot’ Michael Althsuler

Well, I’m jetting off then, see you soon!

Thebountifulplate x

13 Comments leave one →
  1. January 6, 2012 10:54 AM

    Happy blog birthday! Your recipes are wonderful and I am sure they will continue to be no matter where you live.

    xx

  2. January 6, 2012 3:32 PM

    Way to go, here’s to another year and more.

  3. January 6, 2012 4:32 PM

    Congratulations on your year of blogging! I love reading your blog and look forward to reading more once you are settled in Singapore. I loved the chilli crab & hawker food stalls when I visited, so am sure you will have LOADS to blog about.
    Very best of luck to you!
    Laura x

    • January 6, 2012 11:54 PM

      Thanks Laura, and I hope to find a niche for the blog when I get there! Please keep in contact! 🙂

  4. January 18, 2012 8:59 PM

    Congratulations on your 1st year! Wow Singapore! Good luck and enjoy!

  5. January 20, 2012 6:01 PM

    Congratulations on your first year of blogging, so many wonderful highlights and achievements.

    Wow, Singapore! That will be amazing. Have you come across @ladyironchef?I Written by Brad who is a really cool blogger in SIngapore, but he travels all over. I met him this year in France. Check out his blog too, you might find it interesting.

    Looking forward to more of your posts from Singapore xx It was lovely to meet you at FBC

    • January 22, 2012 3:53 PM

      Thanks so much Ren. Wish we could have got to know each other better but hey you can always visit us in Singapore! Will check out @ladyironchef 🙂

  6. January 31, 2012 10:55 PM

    Congratulations on your one year of blogging, I have enjoyed all of your posts and look forward to many more posts and years following your words, pictures and such. I am late in reading your posts… trying to catch up and you have now moved on to Sinapore… what an adventure you will have! You will make the best of it and share it with us your followers and we will indeed enjoy no doubt!

  7. February 26, 2012 4:52 AM

    What an incredible year. Congratulations. I’d love to know more about the Leith writing course. It was great to meet you at FBC and I wish you all the very best in Singapore. Looking forward to learning more about the food from that region.

Leave a Reply

