Skip to content

Let’s Make Christmas at Fortnum & Mason

November 21, 2011

In my previous post, I wrote about the pistachio nuts chocolate truffles I made to bring along to the Let’s Make Christmas Food Bloggers Gift Swap at Fortnum & Mason in London.

There were some seriously good looking gifts from some seriously talented foodies present in Fortnum’s that afternoon! As you will see from Vanessa’s post on the event, there was a bit of a competition for the best gift in four different categories with the overall winner walking away with a hamper from Fortnum’s. My chocolate truffles were not selected (they looked a little sub-standard next to all the beautiful gifts there!) but here are the winning gifts:

Damson schnapps made by Jaynerly won in the drinks/alcohol category

Cranberry & port mincemeat pops made by Orange Thyme blog won in the sweets category

Blackberry curd made by The Botanical Baker won in the preserves/pickles category

Amaretti biscuits made by Claire’s Handmade Cakes won in the baked goods category and was the overall winner

Whilst my truffles didn’t win me anything, I did walk away with Sarah of Maison Cupcake’s Christmas pudding cake pops. I was delighted to have picked these out of almost a hundred different gifts, and yes, they are delicious – I don’t normally even like Christmas pudding!

It was a really fun afternoon with mince pies, cake, coffee and tea laid on by the team at Fortnum and Mason. I caught up with some friends I’d met at other food bloggers events and met others whom I’d been chatting to on twitter. As Vanessa said, we food bloggers are a community – it felt so easy to just chat about food to everyone. But more than that, it simply felt good to share the afternoon with like-minded people.

As Dan Lepard (judge of the winning gifts, award winning baker, food writer and photographer) alluded to before announcing the winners of the Gift Swap, this gathering of food bloggers was a momentous occasion. The U.S. food blogging scene is a few years ahead of the U.K. one in terms of presence within the wider community. Gatherings such as this are more common in the U.S. but if the food bloggers I met at this event are anything to go by, the U.K. may soon be catching up with our fellow food bloggers across the pond.

Thank you to Vanessa for organising a fantastic afternoon and to the team at Fortnum and Mason for hosting the event. Here’s to the next one!

P.S – I don’t know who picked my chocolate truffles to take home that day. If it’s you, I hope you enjoyed them and will try making them this Christmas 🙂

16 Comments leave one →
  1. November 21, 2011 12:14 AM

    Those don’t look substandard at all. But everything looks great.

    • November 21, 2011 11:10 AM

      Thanks Rufus. I was slightly ashamed of myself for not putting in as much effort as others…

  2. November 21, 2011 12:25 AM

    What a wonderful sounding event…you must have had a get time. I live in rural New England and there isn’t a group event like what you had.

    • November 21, 2011 11:11 AM

      Karen, yes. It was a lovely event. It’s nice when people with the same interest get together.

  3. November 21, 2011 9:11 AM

    Was very nice to meet you! Was a pleasant afternoon of chatting.

    Certainly in London, there have been quite a lot of blogger gatherings already… I don’t mean private ones where a few bloggers who have become friends get together (of which there have been hundreds, probably thousands) but large, open events that any food bloggers are welcome to attend. I’ve been to quite a few over the last couple of years. I agree that this is definitely a lot of fun but not quite the momentous occasion of being the first such gathering, or even one of the first.

    The element that I particularly liked was the idea of bringing and swapping gifts, for me that was what set it apart from the other blogger gatherings i’ve been to before.

  4. November 21, 2011 11:27 AM

    You should be proud of your truffles, I think they look wonderful! Lovely way to spend an afternoon and am so sorry that i didn’t get to chat to you…..
    Perhaps next time xx
    ps. I also have no idea who took home my gifts!

  5. November 21, 2011 11:43 AM

    Hi Kavey – yes you are right .. there are lots and lots of Blogger events in London and as you say it was the gift swapping that was the first of it’s kind ( as far as I am aware ) I think that people found it unique in the sense that it was an event that was just for the fun of it. No big PR drive for anything, not a launch, no press, no spin .. just a great chance for some well deserved social time.

    Glad you enjoyed it.
    x

  6. November 22, 2011 10:19 AM

    Great post! It was lovely to see you!

  7. November 24, 2011 3:35 PM

    Just wondered if it is ok to use a picture of me that you took from these? x

  8. August 13, 2013 6:09 PM

    I like the valuable info you provide on your articles.

    I will bookmark your weblog and check again right here regularly.
    I’m moderately certain I’ll be told plenty of new
    stuff right here! Good luck for the following!

Trackbacks

  1. The one that didn’t make it – Christmas red velvet mini cupcakes « thebountifulplate

Leave a Reply

