Skip to content

Let’s make Christmas with pistachio nut chocolate truffles

November 14, 2011

There are few people I know who do not feel a child-like excitement when receiving home-made gifts. Imagine mine when I received my invitation from Vanessa Kimbell to attend The Food Bloggers Gift Swap she was organising at Fortnum and Mason, London. The idea is simple – make a gift and bring it along to swap with other fellow food bloggers! A whole room-full of home-made EDIBLE gifts – would I attend? Try-and-stop-me.

You may know that I’d met Vanessa earlier this year when I was a recipe tester for her now-published cookbook Prepped!. I know she’s one amazingly organised lady and that the event is going to be a lot of fun. Plus she’s invited fellow bloggers whom I’d met through the year at various events – I am really looking forward to having a cuppa tea and a natter with them and of course, other foodies I’d met virtually through thebountifulplate and twitter.

But first, I had to come up with a suitable homemade gift! Now, as Christmas is a time for indulgence and really, nothing whispers indulgence more than chocolates, I finally settled on making some chocolate truffles. They were given a little caramel twist with the addition of golden syrup and crunch from a coating of crushed pistachio nuts.

Soft, rich and creamy, finishing off with the fragrance of pistachios. I hope whoever gets these truffles will love them as much as I do.

What you’ll need

  • 250g dark chocolate, finely chopped (I used Green & Black’s 72% cocoa solids)
  • 120ml double cream
  • 4 tbsp golden syrup
  • Pinch of salt
  • 50g ground pistachio nuts

To make your chocolate truffles

  1. Place the chopped chocolate in a heatproof bowl and set aside.
  2. Combine the cream, golden syrup and salt in a small saucepan and cook over low heat, stirring until the golden syrup has dissolved.
  3. When the mixture starts to boil, remove from the heat and pour over the chocolate. Mix slowly with a small whisk until the chocolate is melted and the mixture is smoot – this is your ganache.
  4. Allow the ganache to cool to room temperature for 15 minutes then cover the bowl with cling film and refrigerate until firm. This will take 3-4 hours or overnight.
  5. Remove ganache from the fridge. Using a measuring spoon (I used 1/2 tablespoon), scoop up some ganache and shape into a ball with your hands.
  6. Roll the truffles in the ground pistachio and serve or pack into presentation boxes as gifts.

Yields about 33 truffles.

Store in an airtight container, refrigerated for up to 5 days.

If you’re looking for ideas for homemade gifts for loved ones this Christmas, why not give these a go – they’re really simple to make but be warned, you will get chocolate everywhere… and that’s not so bad now, is it? 🙂

For similar ideas, I will do a write-up next week of some of the wonderful gifts I will doubtless come across at the Gift Swap later this week and if you want to share some of your ideas for homemade edible gifts, feel free to drop me a comment below! 

15 Comments leave one →
  1. November 14, 2011 1:21 AM

    Those are wonderful looking. Pistachio is one of my favorites, OK my favorite, nut.

  2. November 14, 2011 9:57 AM

    OOH delicious, I so hope that I get these Christine! Looking forward to seeing you again on Friday. have a great week x Rachel

  3. November 14, 2011 12:06 PM

    I am mad on chocolate and nut combinations and these look stunning. Hope I get to try them on Friday!!

  4. November 14, 2011 1:29 PM

    These look wonderful!!

  5. Jessica A permalink
    November 14, 2011 10:58 PM

    Omg, they look so incredibly delicious. Kindly save some for me when we meet on Sat. Pleeeaaseeee!

  6. chengkai permalink
    November 15, 2011 12:16 PM

    CIL, I SO WANT TO MAKE THESE. haha. stunning.

  7. November 17, 2011 4:54 PM

    Deli! 🙂
    I’m hungry now

Trackbacks

  1. The one that didn’t make it – Christmas red velvet mini cupcakes « thebountifulplate

Leave a Reply

