Skip to content

Keeping it simple – miso soup noodles

August 22, 2011

I hurt my left foot a couple of weeks back, falling down the stairs of a moving bus and it swelled up something bad. As a result, I worked from home for a whole week having been advised by my doctor to keep it propped up as much as possible – not that I’m complaining, working from home has its perks. One of them being the ability to have fresh homemade lunch rather than my usual packed lunch of dinner leftovers from the night before.

I wasn’t in any state to prance around the kitchen making anything elaborate so I came up with this really simple Chinese + Japanese fusion soup noodles for me, myself and I. It was a case of using up leftovers (shredded chicken breast meat from a roast over the weekend) and raiding the fridge to make a reasonably healthy and quick dish. This took me less than 10 minutes to make. Aahh.. I could work from home more often!

There are no set rules here – instead of the ingredients below, you can use rice noodles, other vegetables and any leftovers you may have from any other roast meat.

What you’ll need

  •  A bundle of mung bean noodles
  • 400ml water
  • 1 1/2 tsp miso paste
  • A bunch of bok choy
  • A handful of ‘hon shimeji’ or ‘enoki’ mushrooms
  • 3 tbsp of shredded cooked chicken meat
  • ½ stalk of spring onion to garnish, cut into 2 inch lengths and fine strips
  • White pepper powder
  • Soy sauce

 How to make your noodles soup

  1. Soak the mung bean noodles in boiling water for about 1-2 minutes. Drain and set aside in your serving bowl.
  2. In a small saucepan, bring the water to the boil and add the miso paste. Mix well until the paste has dissolved completely.
  3. Add the bok choy and mushrooms to the soup. Cook for 2 minutes or until softened.
  4. Ladle the soup, bok choy and mushrooms over the noodles, then add the shredded chicken.
  5. Garnish with spring onions and white pepper powder.  Add a dash of soy sauce if required.

Yields 1 portion

8 Comments leave one →
  1. August 22, 2011 1:39 AM

    I hope your left foot heals quickly! This looks very good and as you say simple and quick, some time the best dishes are just that….RaeDi

    • August 22, 2011 10:16 PM

      Thanks RaeDi. I agree, sometimes simple is best. Thanks for all your lovely comments throughout the blog 🙂

  2. August 22, 2011 10:09 AM

    Looks delicious! Should it be white miso paste or does it not really matter? Hope your foot is better!

    • August 22, 2011 10:12 PM

      Ren, I used red miso paste but I suppose white works fine too. Thanks too, foot is getting better.

  3. August 22, 2011 11:06 AM

    Lunches are so much better when one works from home! Hope your foot heals quickly!

  4. August 22, 2011 1:57 PM

    Hey Christine,
    Noticed you hobbling about at FBC – hopefully you have recovered?
    Looks like a healthy wholesome meal. Where could I get those mushrooms from? Asian supermarket? Cheers 😉

    • August 22, 2011 9:56 PM

      Hi Jac. Thanks for asking. Foot is much better but still swells up after a day walking around. Am told will be another few weeks to full recovery.Yes you can get the mushrooms from Asian supermarkets or try Japan Centre in Regents’ St. I got these shimeji ones from See Woo supermarket in Greenwich.

Leave a Reply

