Skip to content

The non-fried ‘fried’ chicken

August 8, 2011

I like fried chicken. There, I’ve said it. I know it’s bad for my waistline and my heart but I like it. Once in a while, I even… sshhh… don’t tell anyone.. indulge in some KFC (don’t judge me!).

My favourite fried chicken is of the Japanese kind, chicken karaage. But that still means quite a lot of oil used for frying and a rather dirty kitchen after. With this recipe below however, you’ll get something which is very close to fried chicken with a crispy skin and all the taste, while the kitchen stays clean!

What you’ll need

  • 50g plain flour
  • 1 tsp paprika
  • 2 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp garlic powder
  • a few twists of black pepper
  • 8 chicken drumsticks/thighs
  • 5 tbsp vegetable or olive oil

How to make your fried chicken

  1. Combine flour, paprika, cayenne pepper, salt, garlic powder, and black pepper in a large bowl and mix well.
  2. Add chicken pieces to the flour mixture and coat evenly. Allow to rest for an hour.
  3. Preheat oven to 200°C. Pour vegetable/olive oil evenly over bottom of a 32x23cm baking tin (you’re looking to get a thin layer of oil to coat the base of your baking tin).
  4. Arrange the chicken pieces in baking tin and bake, turning once after 15 minutes, until juices run clear, about 30 minutes. 
  5. Transfer to a serving dish and tuck in immediately.

 

Yields 4 servings

15 Comments leave one →
  1. Movefasta permalink
    August 8, 2011 12:33 AM

    omg looks just like kfc . well done dude

  2. August 8, 2011 6:14 AM

    I’m gonna try this out this weekend!!! 😀 Fried chicken……

  3. August 8, 2011 2:57 PM

    I don’t like frying, so these are right up my alley! Great recipe.

    • August 8, 2011 5:11 PM

      And thanks again Rufus, I was so surprised how fried-looking these turned out. definitely a keeper.

  4. August 9, 2011 1:13 PM

    They do look fried! I think Amanda Hesser has a similar recipe but she soaks the chicken in buttermilk first! I’ve got to try both recipes.

  5. August 19, 2011 1:36 PM

    I’m so glad that Fiona Beckett @winematcher mentioned this post at food bloggers connect! Way to go! Sounds like a very good way to indulge, can’t wait to try it out! 🙂

    • August 19, 2011 1:39 PM

      Grazie for your kind words, Emiko. 🙂 Lovely to have met you briefly at FBC11. Been on your blog since and it’s beautiful.

  6. August 21, 2011 10:26 PM

    I have just in the past year found I love fried chicken and the dark meat, I would always eat the breast but not ever the dark meat! The brick roasted chicken on high heat got me started! This sounds and looks delicious….RaeDi

Trackbacks

  1. Blogging and Anoraks | PROVENCE CALLING

Leave a Reply

