Skip to content

Lemon cupcakes to welcome Flossie

August 1, 2011

Last weekend, we visited some friends who’d just had a beautiful little girl Florence, and brought along some lemon cupcakes to celebrate her arrival. Sitting in their garden washed in afternoon sunshine, surrounded by friends and good food – life felt good.

I also took the opportunity to try out some photography and food styling tips picked up from ‘Plate to Pixel – Digital Food Photography & Styling’ by Hélène Dujardin. Part of the fun of writing this blog is the thrill of thinking of a recipe I want to try out, how I would present and photograph it and of course, the final taste test.

I wanted to make lemon cupcakes as they remind me of sunshine and warmth. K loves lemon curd so I incorporated this into the recipe. Topped with some light Swiss meringue buttercream, the cupcakes were perfect for our sunny party and I’m pleased to say, received many positive comments 🙂

The recipe for the cupcakes is adapted from Eric Lanlard’s ‘Cake Boy’ recipe for a basic vanilla sponge cake which I’ve used to make a Victoria sponge cake before. Grated lemon zest can be added to the meringue buttercream if you wish but I made a simple vanilla flavoured one to give balance to the citrus lemon curd.

What you’ll need

  • 175g unsalted butter, at room temperature
  • 175g caster sugar
  • Juice of 1 lemon
  • Grated zest of 1 lemon
  • 3 eggs
  • 175g self-raising flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 150g lemon curd
  • Swiss meringue buttercream
  • Sliced lemon peel, for decoration

To make your cake 

  1. Preheat the oven to 180°C. Line a cupcake baking tray with cupcake cases.
  2. Cream the butter and sugar together in a freestanding electric mixer on a medium-high speed (speed 6 on my Kitchenaid for 8 minutes), until light and fluffy.
  3. Add the lemon juice, lemon zest and beat in the eggs one at a time until creamy and well combined.
  4. Sift the flour and baking powder into the mix, and fold everything together gently using a spatula or metal spoon. You should have a light and fluffy mixture.
  5. Divide the mix between the cupcake cases, filling each one about half-way and bake for 20 minutes.
  6. Leave the cupcakes to cool in the oven for 5 minutes then transfer to a wire rack to cool completely. 
  7. When cooled, make a hole in the middle of each cupcake with an apple corer or a small knife and fill with lemon curd.
  8. To finish, pipe on some Swiss meringue buttercream and top with a slice of lemon peel.

Yields 12 cupcakes

13 Comments leave one →
  1. August 1, 2011 8:30 PM

    Wow! Summer in a cupcake liner! You hit it right on the mark…I love lemon curd, well…anything lemon for that matter. Your photos are great, especially the first one…I wanted to lick my screen! 😉

  2. August 3, 2011 12:31 PM

    Your cupcakes look amazing! I love anything lemon. And that oozing filling… Yum!

  3. August 4, 2011 1:26 AM

    Nice, I just make some lemon cupcakes Very similar to yours, I have not posted them yet, sometime in the next week or so. But we were both pretty close to what the other was doing. You’ll have to watch for mine. Have enjoyed your blog a lot, I will visit again….RaeDi

  4. August 4, 2011 2:38 PM

    Christine, your photos are absolutely stunning! Picture perfect! Do you mind me asking what camera you are using?

    • August 4, 2011 7:10 PM

      Hi there melikeyuk! Thank you for your lovely comment. I’m using a Nikon D40 with a f1.4 50mm lens. Nothing fancy, but it does the job. My skills don’t warrant a camera with higher specs 🙂

  5. August 8, 2011 2:58 PM

    Yes, the cupcakes are gorgeous, but I really want a full English breakfast now! Love the little lemon peels on top of the cakes.

  6. August 21, 2011 10:29 PM

    Hopefully I will get the lemon cupcakes posted this week, we went away to the coast and had so much fun. Hope you can come by….RaeDi

  7. September 12, 2011 6:23 PM

    These look stunninnnnggg. I love a good lemon cupcake and yours are just so so beautiful! Im sure they were very gratefully received by all, not sure i could bare to part with any though… 🙂

    • September 12, 2011 8:44 PM

      Thank you, The Procrastobaker. I managed to have one, the rest were left for my friends’ guests but next time I’m definitely making more for me!

Leave a Reply

