Skip to content

Sesame cookies and thinking about change

June 22, 2011

Earlier this week, I attended my last class of a short Food Writing Course at Leiths School of Food and Wine. It’s been really enjoyable and I have learnt a lot. More importantly, the course has opened my mind to the various aspects of the food-related industry that perhaps I had not been aware of. It’s got me thinking even more about food, the style and direction of this blog and how I could look to develop my skills even more, perhaps to make a change in my life. Change is good, right?

Anyway, I’ll stop rambling. Today I want to share a recipe of some sesame cookies I made for our last class. There was all round appreciation for these little rectangular delights. The sesame seeds added a nutty taste and delicate crunch to the cookies, and they’re healthy too! Somehow, that made me feel better about devouring five at a go…

What you’ll need

  • 220g cake flour (the recipe calls for pastry flour or top flour)
  • 50g white sesame seeds
  • 50g black sesame seeds
  • 100g unsalted butter, at room temperature
  • 100g icing sugar
  • 1/8tsp salt
  • 2 free-range egg yolks

To make your sesame cookies

1. Sift flour, then place in the freezer to chill. Without preheating the oven, bake white and black sesame seeds at 150°C for 10-15 minutes. Set aside to cool.

2. Beat butter, icing sugar and salt until soft and creamy. Add egg yolks and mix well. Add flour and sesame seeds and fold in with a spatula. The dough should be quite crumbly.

3. Divide dough in half. Transfer each half to a piece of parchment/baking paper and shape into a 12x7x2.5cm rectangle. Wrap dough in cling film and chill in the refrigerator for at least 3 hours – I chilled mine overnight.

4. Preheat oven to 160°C.

5. Slice chilled cookie dough into 5-7mm thick bars. Place on a baking tray lined with parchment/baking paper. Bake for about 20 minutes until golden brown. Let cool on a wire rack.

6. Store cookies in an airtight container to keep them crisp.

Yields 40 cookies

Recipe adapted from Okashi – Sweet treats made with love by Keiko Ishida

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

