Skip to content

Of puffy love

May 18, 2011
tags: ,

I’ve been living way from home for almost 15 years now. That’s a long time. Through the years, my parents have endeavoured to feed me well – making extra effort to buy me what they know to be my favourite foods from my childhood when I visit them, or vice versa to bring these over when they visit me in London. All sorts have been bought at the last minute (early morning drive to the market) to ensure freshness and then repackaged properly with kitchen towel/foil (to cushion any knocking about) in little Tupperware boxes to preserve their shape or form for the long journey. Over the years, these have included my favourite curry puffs, bakchang, Chinese biscuits, kaya and so much more.

My dad is visiting now. He’s brought over some kaya puffs for me. I love these. My mum used to buy them for me from a lady stall-holder at the market she goes to in Penang. Those were delicious – the pastry light and crispy, the kaya smooth and not too sweet with an intense coconut taste.

These kaya puffs were bought from somewhere totally different. They taste different. But the love? The love is the same. The bestest. Thank you mummy and daddy. I love you both. x

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Gina permalink
    May 19, 2011 8:56 AM

    I love these too~! yummy~
    R u goin to try to make these?

    • May 19, 2011 2:48 PM

      G – I must try but having to make the kaya AND the pastry might be a bit too much for me now… soon, soon! 🙂

  2. May 20, 2011 7:49 PM

    Those look amazing. I grew up on the East Coast so I always miss crabs. Then I lived on the West Coast (the states:) and now I miss Mexican food.

    • May 21, 2011 11:03 AM

      Thanks Rufus. I know how you feel – I miss Malaysian food when I’m in London and miss the variety of food I get here in London when I’m back in Asia!

  3. May 25, 2011 2:29 AM

    Hey, it’s me!! 🙂
    Bake some kaya puff !

Leave a Reply

