Skip to content

Dinner by Heston Blumenthal

February 28, 2011

Oh no – am I adding yet another review of the new Dinner by Heston Blumenthal to the web? In the days leading up to our lunch booking at Dinner, I read almost every single review about it. Most were singing its praises, some were a bit more reserved in their enthusiasm. I suppose I was doing my experience a bit of injustice by reading and hence expecting so much before even setting foot into the place. So on our way there, I resolved to just relax and enjoy our usual month-end treat.

Thinking about my experience at Dinner, I’d say if there was one word to describe it all, it would be ‘interesting’. From the pineapple spit roast to observing the chefs in the open kitchen. Indeed one of the most interesting meals I’ve enjoyed for a long time with the added bonus that the food was, in my opinion, absolutely delicious and well thought out. I was curious about everything!

And really, I could dissect the service and every plate of food we had but no, I’ve decided to simply share a few photos of our meal with you and to say that if you like trying out something different like me, just treat it like any other new restaurant you’re considering spending your hard-earned money at and … follow your curiosity! I’m glad I did.

Pineapple on spit roast in the open kitchen

Meat fruit

Roast scallops

Spiced pigeon

 

Beef Royal

Brown Bread Ice Cream

Tipsy Cake

Complimentary Earl Grey and White Chocolate & Cream Ganache with Caraway Seeds Shortbread

Price of lunch with plates as above, potato puree, a Bloody Mary and 2 coffees = £151.82 (incl of service charge)

Dinner is located at the Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park, 66 Knightsbridge, London SW1X 7LA, which is a few steps away from Knightsbridge tube station.

Dinner by Heston Blumenthal on Urbanspoon

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 9, 2011 6:35 PM

    Emmmm it all looks lovely! I toyed with the idea of booking a table but gave up after the ultra long waiting list. Might try again after the hype dies down a little (is that even possible?). would you consider a return visit?

Trackbacks

  1. Happy one year old! « thebountifulplate
  2. Dit zijn de 10 beste restaurants ter wereld - Manify.nl | Play Hard!

Leave a Reply

