Skip to content

My very first homemade leeks and mushrooms quiche

January 30, 2011

As I begin my ‘food writing journey’ through documenting my baking, cooking and eating-out experiences, I realise that variety is so not my forte. I tend to stick to the same type of cuisine and within that, the same type of food, probably cooked the same way too! This habit has probably been developed from my growing up years – where I tend to cook in the style my mother cooks (simple, healthy Cantonese style dishes); to my lifestyle now (not-so-busy working woman) – where I lean towards time-efficient meals which take under 1 hour to cook.

So as part of the purpose of this journey and my resolution for this year, I made something which I’ve never done before because it’s oh-so-convenient to pick one of these up from the supermarket and pop it into the oven – a quiche. But when I had my first bite of this perfectly-formed creation of mine (well, I bought the shortcrust pastry from the shop but hey..) I vowed never again to buy a quiche from the supermarket!

It only took me an hour to make this quiche but you do need to make sure you’ve got a rolling pin, baking beans, a tart tin and greaseproof paper on top of perhaps your normal kitchen gear.

The what

  • Butter – for greasing
  • Flour – for dusting
  • 300g ready-made shortcrust pastry
  • 400g leeks – washed and thinly sliced
  • 250g white mushrooms – thinly sliced
  • 170ml double cream
  • 5 heaped tbsp grated Emmental cheese
  • 2 eggs
  • Salt and cracked black pepper to taste

The how

1. Lightly butter and flour a 20cm/8in round tart tin.

2. Roll out the pastry on a lightly floured surface and use it to line the tart tin. The pastry should be about 2mm thick. Chill for 15 minutes in the fridge.

3. Heat the oven to 200C/gas mark 6.

4. Remove the pastry case from the fridge and line with greaseproof paper and baking beans, then bake for 15 minutes.

5. Remove the greaseproof paper and baking beans (take care with these as they’ll be very hot!) and return the pastry case to the oven for a further 5 minutes.

6. Remove the pastry case from the oven and trim away any ‘untidy’/ overhanging pastry from the top. Lower the oven temperature to 180C/gas mark 4.

7. Cook the leeks and mushrooms in a saucepan for about 10 minutes or until the leeks have softened.

8. Sprinkle ½ the Emmental cheese onto the base of the pastry case, spoon the leeks and mushrooms on top and finish with the remaining cheese.

9. Whisk together the eggs, double cream and season with salt and pepper.

10. Pour the mixture into the pastry case and bake for 30-35 minutes until the filling has just set and slightly browned.

A slice of quiche

Recipe adapted from Gary Rhodes’ 365.

Yields 4 large slices which can be served warm or at room temperature

Leave a Reply

