Skip to content

Mini Magoo’s granola

January 14, 2011

During our visit to Borough Market last weekend, I discovered Mini Magoo’s which I then later read is run by Maria Luigi and her team. I don’t normally buy granola although I am a fan of muesli… occasionally. I know it’s good for me but honestly, I can’t say it’s my preferred choice of breakfast. I believe the main difference between muesli and granola is that the former is uncooked whereas the latter is generally baked until crispy.

I would have walked right past the Mini Magoo’s stall had a member of Maria’s team not offered me a small tasting pot of some granola (I’m always up for some free food!). I tasted a little bit of this and the burst of flavours on my palate was simply beyond any type of cereal I’d ever had in my life! I was told that I had just sampled the ginger granola which contains seeds and nuts, jumbo oats, coconut flakes, sunflower seeds, almonds, pumpkin seeds, linseeds and raw agave syrup. The taste of ginger came through subtly with the sweetness from the raw agave syrup really complementing the other ingredients.

I’ve since had some with a bit of Greek yoghurt and honey – I feel healthier already!

What I like too is that the ingredients are organic and 100% handmade; though of course this will probably make the products a little bit on the pricey side but how often can you say you’ve bought something that’s healthy and tastes great? Plus the four tablespoons-full I had for breakfast was enough to keep my stomach from rumbling until lunch-time which saves me from buying a mid-morning snack.

 

A bagful of goodness and yumminess!

Read about Mini Magoo’s here:  http://www.minimagoo.com/ and here: http://www.deliciousmagazine.co.uk/articles/food-for-thought-maria-luigi

Leave a Reply

