Skip to content

Recipe for kimchi fried rice

April 1, 2013

Kimchi fried rice

Truth be told, I am writing this and I am absolutely knackered. I have just run my second half-marathon in Singapore. The first one I ran was in December last year and I don’t remember it being so painful after! My lower back is aching, my calf muscles are going into occasional spasms and the heat really got to me this time. At one point towards the last kilometre, I thought I was going to pass out from the intensity of the morning sun. Lesson learnt – do not underestimate the power of the sun!

I had grand plans for this long Easter weekend – baking, cooking, more recipe testing… I didn’t get to do everything I wanted to but did manage to finally come up with a really good avocado smoothie recipe which I’ll hopefully share soon and this kimchi fried rice.

Kimchi is fermented vegetables, generally cabbage, seasoned with salt, Korean red pepper powder, garlic and ginger. It can taste quite spicy and tart, a combination that may not be pleasant to many. I don’t have much experience eating or cooking Korean food. I do know that kimchi is generally served as a side dish with most Korean meals I’ve had. Whilst on its own it can be a little daunting to eat, I decided to try making kimchi fried rice after reading justcooknyc’s version here. I had some chicken thighs sitting in the freezer which needed to be used up so added them to my fried rice, but David Chang of Momofuku goes on about how amazing bacon and kimchi in fried rice tastes and Orangette has what looks like a good recipe here.

The kimchi fried rice turned out really well – not too spicy, even without bacon and butter (need to watch the fat content here!) and I loved the orange tinge the kimchi leant to the rice.

Whilst many say you should use cooked rice that’s a day or two old for fried rice, I find that fluffing up the rice after it’s cooked and leaving to cool to room temperature works just as well.

Kimchi fried rice

What you’ll need

  • 3 small chicken thighs, de-boned and cut into 1 cm cubes
  • 1 teaspoon sesame oil
  • 1 tablespoon light soy sauce
  • vegetable oil for frying
  • 2 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 3 shallots, finely sliced
  • 2 cups of cooked rice at room temperature
  • 200g of kimchi, chopped into bite size pieces if required
  • salt and pepper for seasoning
  • fried egg to finish off
  • chopped green spring onions or chives for garnish

To make your kimchi fried rice

  1. Put the chicken thighs, sesame oil and light soy sauce in a bowl and toss. Allow to marinade for 30 minutes.
  2. Heat the oil in a wok over high heat. Add the garlic and shallots, stirring until cooked, but not brown.
  3. Add the chicken and stir-fry for a couple of minutes until cooked.
  4. Add the rice, breaking up the clumps and fry for another couple of minutes.
  5. Add the kimchi and stir-fry until all the ingredients is mixed throughout the rice.
  6. Season with salt and pepper if required. The kimchi can be quite salty already so always taste before seasoning.
  7. Plate up and serve with a fried egg (highly recommended) and garnish with chopped green spring onions or chives.

Yields 2 servings for dinner with leftovers for packed lunch the next day.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 2, 2013 6:10 AM

    Training for my 4th half-marathon at the end of this month…wish me luck! Well done and congrats!

    • April 2, 2013 10:18 AM

      Hello tinykitchenstories!! All the best for your next 1/2 marathon. Hope the weather is kinder to you where you are! :)

Trackbacks

  1. Recipe for stir-fried Korean sweet potato noodles (jap chae) | thebountifulplate

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 276 other followers

